Josh Grossman

Josh Grossman has been Artistic Director of Toronto Downtown Jazz, producers of the annual TD Toronto Jazz Festival, since 2010.Since joining Toronto Downtown Jazz, Josh has sought to re-invigourate the organization’s activities, launching new educational and off-season activity, building new bridges into the local jazz community, and encouraging the presentation of those artists who are moving jazz into a new and exciting direction.

Josh is a trumpeter and graduate from the University of Toronto’s Jazz Performance Program in 1999.He has performed in big bands under the direction of Phil Nimmons, Paul Read, Ron Collier and Paul Ashwell; he has performed with the Chris Hunt Tentet since its inception in 2002.Josh is the founding Artistic Director and Conductor for the Toronto Jazz Orchestra (TJO), an 18-piece big band featuring some of Toronto’s top emerging jazz talent.Now in its 18th year, the TJO has released three full-length recordings, has performed with Phil Nimmons, Ingrid Jensen, Christine Jensen, Emilie-Claire Barlow, Seamus Blake, Geoffrey Keezer, the Toronto Mass Choir and Kurt Elling (among others), and has presented musical tributes to Thad Jones, Stan Kenton, Duke Ellington and Radiohead.

For four years Josh was Performance Manager for The Glenn Gould School at The Royal Conservatory, where he was responsible for producing the School’s annual orchestra and chamber music concerts as well as over 100 master classes each year featuring some of the top musicians from around the world.Following The Glenn Gould School Josh managed the High Park Choirs of Toronto (2007-2009); he has served as Operations Manager for Continuum Contemporary Music, one of Canada’s top contemporary chamber ensembles, since 2007.

Josh was Artistic Director for the Markham Jazz Festival from 2006 to 2009, a role which perhaps best prepared him for his current position as Artistic Director for Toronto Downtown Jazz (TDJ). Josh is co-chair of the Toronto Arts Council (TAC) Music Committee, and a member of the TAC Board of Directors.

(February 2016)